IT Service Continuity Management for an Android phone


My previous phone was an HTC Desire and thanks to the following set of applications, it took me 15 minutes to re-create the environment I had on my HTC onto my new Samsung Galaxy S2.

IT Service Continuity Management focusses on ensuring to answer the What if…? for your IT equipment. For my Android based mobile phone, it is important to me (the business) to keep an updated copy of my data off the handset and stored in a secure location.

Necessary Apps

  1. Titanium Backup: Free version, PRO version
  2. ROM Manager: Free version, PRO version
  3. Rsync Backup for Android

I strongly recommend to install the PRO versions after you check out the free version, as it is one very good way of giving feedback to the developers.

Note: You must have root access to your OS and keep the insecure kernel. I have written about why I chose to root my device in this earlier post.

Local dumps

Weekly backup scheme to the local SD card:

  • ROM Mananer dumps an image of the OS – to duplicate my installation on the same type of hardware, and
  • Titanium Backup backs up all applications and their corresponding config and user data – for easy migration to new hardware.

Synchronize to file server

Every night, I synch the SD card’s file system to my Ubuntu file server using rsync backup for Android. This takes care of all multimedia, docs, ++, in addition to the weekly dumps of the ROM and apps+user data.

In turn, I have a backup service running on my server which ensures keeping all versions of the dumps on an external HD. This last step is a bit geeky, but I’ve suffered the pain of data loss and I resist to feel that pain again!😉

2 thoughts on “IT Service Continuity Management for an Android phone

  1. Tilbaketråkk: My recommended apps for Android based phones | Ad-hoc knowledge

  2. Tilbaketråkk: My recommended apps for Android based phones « Ad-hoc knowledge

Legg igjen en kommentar

