I’ve rooted my Samsung Galaxy S2


Yesterday, I bought a Samsung Galaxy S2, and I decided to to root it for the following reasons:

  • a rooted device extends the functionality of the device by enabling the usage of applications that need privileged access to the Operating System.
  • the rooting process does not replace the OS, as it only installs the su command. In other words, no changes to the phone’s OS are made. Software updates from Samsung can still be installed.
Here’s what I did:
  1. Installed an insecure kernel with  Odin3 v1.83 (MS Windows software) to allow the rooting
  2. Ran S2 root to perform the actual rooting
  3. Reinstalled the original kernel with  Odin3 v1.83
My phone is now as it was before, only with root access. Fantastic!
Here’s a the software I used:

2 thoughts on “I’ve rooted my Samsung Galaxy S2

  1. Tilbaketråkk: IT Service Continuity Management for an Android phone « Ad-hoc knowledge

  2. Tilbaketråkk: Howto run automatic backup of an Android phone « Ad-hoc knowledge

Legg igjen en kommentar

